Security Seal Facebook Twitter GooglePlus Pinterest Newsletter Sign-up
Sign-up for our newsletter!

ClimateMaster President Daniel Ellis Wins Prestigious Rittinger MedalSubscribe to RSS feed

OKLAHOMA CITY, June 6, 2014 - ClimateMaster announces that its president, Daniel Ellis, has received the Ritter von Rittinger Medal from the International Energy Agency Heat Pump Program. Ellis recently accepted the award at the 11th IEA Heat Pump Conference in Montreal, Quebec.

Named after engineer Peter Ritter von Rittinger, credited with the design and installation of the first practical heat pump system, the Ritter Medal recognizes individuals or teams that have distinguished themselves in the advancement of heat pump technology, applications and market development activities with lasting international impact. Granted every three years by the International Energy Agency Heat Pump Program, it is the highest international award in the air conditioning, heat pump and refrigeration industry. In 2014, a total of five recipients were awarded the Ritter Medal.

“It is my great pleasure to recognize these dignified gentlemen and honor them with the industry’s most prestigious prize,” said Dr. Sophie Hosatte, chair of the IEA Heat Pump Program’s executive committee. “Our award winners are undoubtedly five of the most influential individuals also in the history of the IEA Heat Pump Program.”

“I am extremely honored to receive this award, and to be recognized alongside these industry leaders,” said Ellis. “ClimateMaster’s relentless pursuit of technological and marketing innovation and our longstanding commitment to industry stewardship have no doubt made this award possible.”

Previously co-founder and president of WaterFurnace, Ellis joined ClimateMaster in 1995, and has been active in the geothermal heat pump (GHP) field since 1978. Widely recognized as one of the industry’s pioneers, Ellis’s technical contributions include residential energy analysis and system design software, advanced technology heat pumps, and innovations in the design of large commercial heat pump systems. Ellis is also an ardent industry advocate, most notably leading the effort that resulted in the current U.S. federal tax incentives for geothermal heat pumps.

Ellis is chairman of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute’s (AHRI) Water-Source Heat Pump sub-section and is currently director-at-large of the AHRI’s board of directors. He is also chairman of subcommittee TC86/SC6 within the International Standards Organization (ISO), which is responsible for air-conditioner and heat pump rating standards.

A member of both the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) and the U.S. National Team for the International Energy Agency (IEA) Heat Pump Program, Ellis also serves on the board of the Geothermal Exchange Organization (GEO).

About the IEA Heat Pump Program and IEA Heat Pump Centre

The IEA Heat Pump Program (HPP) is a non-profit organization under which member countries cooperate in projects in the field of heat pumps and related heat pumping technologies, such as air conditioning, refrigeration and working fluids (refrigerants). The IEA Heat Pump Program operates under the International Energy Agency (IEA) and was founded in 1978. The current member countries are Austria, Canada, Finland, France, Italy, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.

About ClimateMaster

ClimateMaster, Inc. is the leading manufacturer of geothermal and water-source heat pumps, which are considered to be the most energy efficient and environmentally friendly type of heating and cooling systems available on the market today. Headquartered in Oklahoma City, Ok, ClimateMaster, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of LSB Industries, Inc. whose common stock is traded over the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol LXU.

For more information, visit